Home » Employment Law » Pay and Time Off » Minimum Wage Laws

The Federal minimum wage for non-exempt employees is $5.15 per hour. However, many states have a higher minimum wage – in such circumstances, the employer must pay the higher of the two. Currently, there are 12 states that have a higher minimum wage than what the federal law requires.

Washington – $7.16
Hawaii – $6.25
Delaware – $6.15
Connecticut – $7.10
Rhode Island – $6.75
Massachusetts – $6.75
Maine – $6.25
Vermont – $6.75
Oregon – $7.05
California – $6.75
Alaska – $7.15
Illinois – $5.50


Related Pay and Time Off Articles